You just can’t beat 35mm..

I was cleaning a cupboard the other day and I found 5 rolls of slide film. I was wondering when I shot them. I was thinking 2004/2005. I was so excited while I waited the 2 days for the processing and out of the 5 rolls I got about 25 good photos. I was stoked to have that many after 6 years of sitting in a dusty cupboard! Here they are, shot on a Canon EOS 5 on slide.

Val D'Isere shot from a helicoter during 'THE BIG DAY OUT'

I was lucky enough to shoot (video) from a helicopter during the X-box Big Day Out in Val D’Isere. I remember we had 15min of heli-time and I got into the empty helicopter, no seats just a flat floor and the gave me the safety chain and I clicked  it onto me. I didnt realize that it was supposed to be tight. I had it loose thinking I could move around the space easily. As we lifted off I had my feet on the skids thinking I would be man enough to sit on the edge and film. It was freezing cold and as we got higher and higher and banked over the home run down to La Daille heading towards the contest site on La Face I realized I might not be up for the challenge. About 50 meters up I took my feet off the skids and moved inside.. As we banked over the site (and we were under rules no lower than 150mts) I was looking directly down to the ground and was literally sitting on the floor with no harnesses. Nothing stopping me from falling except the 2 meters of safety cord. Very Memorable!

Night jumping..

Parties, parties and a bit of snowboarding! Incredible event and something that Val D is missing.. Well done to Gumby for all those years of organising a incredible time for 1000’s of people!

Flats.

I don’t know why but this pic is the epitomy of fun.. this part of the mountain you must be at full speed to make the length of the flat. Just a friend going fast on a perfect piste day in Val D’Isere

Birthday Skiing..

Our Danish friends birthday.  I think.. or not but just good times with good people!

Capbreton..

This looks like its been through multiple filters in photoshop. Nothing! Straight scan off the slide. This is a German world war 2 bunker slowing being reclaimed by the sea!

A young Curren.

If I remember correctly, this is Leanne Curren singing on a stage in Capbreton during ‘The King of the Groms’. I introduced a guy to his future wife on this night! Yea Chad!

San Sab.

This is ‘The Plague’ playing in a little room on the hill above the ‘old town’ in San Sabastian. If you saw this band I am sure you had one  of the craziest nights of your life! I think I saw them 30 odd times and everytime there is a different story of something random. Incredible memories!

Howie

The man with the Gold Pass! welcome everywhere even after drinking the bar dry, Howie is literally one of a kind! If your at the bottom of the barrel you hope to bump into this guy. Too many a incredible story with my mate Howie and I look forward to the next time we share a beer or 20.

Chain smoking mutha fucka!

We were at the ski resort Les Deux Alpes in France and the Plague were playing around the resort for the Mondial du Snow in November. Its a thing before the season starts and everyone is there. Its loose! This guy in German and after a all weekend drinking spree, was reciting one of Adolf Hitlers at full scream off the balcony of the hotel we were staying in.. The police came, smelt pot and raided the room! Lucky for us, REALLY, the smoke they smelled was coming out of another hotel room and the police went to town on them instead of us. As I said, without the details, we were very lucky that they didn’t come into our room! Jesus!

Griff

About ashkelleher

I love life, my family, my friends, my girl Sophie, my home town Currumbin, Australia, 120 and 35mm film photography, travel, stories, surfing, snowboarding, MotoGP, Nascar, bars, clubs, people-watching, laughing, Western's, Robina movie complex, drinking beer at Currumbin SLSC and living outside of the box! All of the above is keeping me young in mind and spirit! I highly recommend all of the above!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

